Hands-On: Burris MTAC 4.5-14×42 Review

burris mtac 4.5-14

Accuracy, dependability, and value, are there any other criteria to finding a great rifle scope? With so many scopes on the market today there must be more to it, right? In reality, each brand has its perks, but honestly, all rifle scopes can be judged based on how they answer the first three attributes.  

In this review, we will cover how well the Burris MTAC 4.5 and scope alternatives answer the main three attributes, and what extra perks this scope offers shooters. Read the rest of this review to find out how Burris manages these three attributes and more. 

Burris MTAC 4.5-14x42 Review

Affordability is what comes to mind when I think about the MTAC line by Burris. I have shot with MTAC scopes from Burris and they are equal in quality and performance to scopes that are twice the price. Extreme versatility is what comes to mind next as the MTAC line seems to lend itself well to all shooting styles.

I found the Burris MTAC 4.5-14x42 to be different from the other MTAC scopes I have shot in the past. I am accustomed to the MTAC series being more for close-range/mid-range scopes that are purposely built for 3 gun competitions. 

burris mtac 4.5-14x42

The Burris webpage dedicated to the MTAC series even promotes the MTAC series as built for 3 gun and tactical situations. The MTAC 4.5-14x42 is slightly different, with lowest clarity being pushed at 50 yards. The MTAC 4.5-14x42 was built as a long-distance hunting rifle sight. 

This review will cover the key features of the Burris MTAC 4.5, the purposes for which it was built, and all of the built-in specs. I will also cover the difference between the MTAC 4.5, and every other MTAC made.   

burris mtac scope reviews

Unfortunately, Burris has discontinued the MTAC 4.5, with that being said, the scopes reviewed below are great alternatives to the Burris MTAC 4.5. 

Alternative Scope Options:

PRODUCT

DETAILS

Products

BEST FOR LONG RANGE

Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I Riflescope

Vortex Viper PST

Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I Riflescope

  • Magnification: 6-24x
  • Battery: CR2032
  • Weight:1.5 Pounds
BEST FOR DURABILITY

Leupold VX-3i Riflescope

Leupold VX-3i

Leupold VX-3i Riflescope

  • Magnification: 4.5-14x
  • Battery:1 Lithium Metal
  • Weight:13 oz

1. Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I

burris mtac 4.5 14x42 review

Vortex is a brand with a generous warranty plan similar to the Burris Forever Warranty. The Vortex Viper PST Gen 1 is a great alternative scope to the Burris Mtac 4.5-14x42. With a range of 6-24x50, there is no target too far. The Vortex Viper is a first focal plane scope and has an elaborate battle reticle with a hash marked ranging reticle utilizing MRAD based lines for ranging, holdover, and windage corrections.

Vortex Viper PST

Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I Riflescope

The price of Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I Riflescope varies, so check the latest price at

Want to know more about vortex viper PST? Check out our detailed review.

2. Leupold VX-3i 4.5-14x40mm 

burris mtac 4.5-14x42

The Leupold VX-3i is available in the same magnification range of the Burris MTAC 4.5. Whether you are hunting or playing at the range, the Leupold VX-3i is built for distance. The VX-3i delivers a vivid image and is a great alternative to the MTAC 4.5 due to the included twilight max light management system for clear, bright sighting even at dusk or in deep shadows. Designed for hunters the VX-3i is an extremely durable rifle scope. 

Leupold VX-3i

Leupold VX-3i Riflescope

The price of Leupold VX-3i Riflescope varies, so check the latest price at

Want to know more about best leupold scopes? Check out or guide.

Without further adieu, let's get into the review you came here for, the Burris MTAC 4.5 rifle scope.

Burris Mtac 4.5-14x42 Review

burris mtac 4.5-14x42 review

With the MTAC series of rifle scopes being specifically designed to run in 3 gun competitions, the MTAC 4.5 is great for distance shooting and big-game hunting. Utilizing a G2B Mil-Dot reticle design, this scope offers precise aiming, distance measurement, holdover, and hold-off.

The MTAC 4.5 features matte black Mil-Rad knobs that allow for windage and elevation adjustments that are finger-adjustable. This is a benefit for making adjustments quickly and accurately while in the field. This also means that this scope is shooting glove-friendly. Adjustability while wearing gloves is something to keep in mind as the majority of us wear gloves of some kind while shooting or hunting.

The MTAC 4.5 scope boasts a major improvement in the MTAC series with an independently moving power ring, separated from the ocular bell. This improvement lets the shooter adjust the power range without any sight picture interruption. The main tube is constructed of matte black aircraft-grade T6 aluminum which provides similar build quality to higher-end scopes.  

All Burris scopes are purged with laboratory-grade nitrogen to eliminate internal moisture and sealed with Burris-exclusive quad seals. This makes Burris scopes waterproof, shockproof, and fog-proof. Making adjustments is a breeze with the high turret generating audible clicks, ensuring dependable shots. 

I believe that the Burris MTAC riflescope 4.5-14x42 is a great bargain for the price. With great clarity at distance, this scope is what sits atop my 6.5 Creedmoor hunting setup. I enjoy the adjustability, and durability when hiking through brush. 

I have confidence when using the MTAC 4.5 when hunting because of the strength of the warranty offered through Burris. I also did not want to break the bank when buying a hunting scope and the Burris MTAC 4.5 is what I chose as a great mid-priced scope without sacrificing quality.  

Burris

Burris MTAC Riflescope

The price of Burris MTAC Riflescope varies, so check the latest price at

What’s In The Package:

burris mtac 3.5 10x42 review

When you purchase a Burris MTAC riflescope 4.5-14x42 you get just that, the scope. Unlike many other scope companies, Burris only packages their scopes with the item itself. There isn't anything wrong with this, but I think as consumers we have all grown accustomed to getting extra goodies.

When you purchase a scope, whether it is the Burris MTAC 4.5 or another brand scope there are items that do not usually come with your scope purchase that are necessary for mounting your scope to your rifle of choice. Necessary in some instances, just fun in others. 

Base/Scope Rings

Used to mount the scope to your rifle. Traditionally, two rings tighten around the scope and attach to a base that is attached directly to your rifle. Scope rings are hardware that you have to purchase no matter the scope. Best scope ring options can be found on our another guide. 

Throw Lever

A throw lever allows for faster and easier changes in magnification on your variable riflescope. Allowing you to adjust the magnification of your scope to the ideal setting. Find a throw lever for your setup here. (Must have for 3 gun shooters.) 

Quick Detach Mount

From CQB to 3 gun and general range shooting, a QD mount will benefit you now and in the future. Designed to provide a universal base in which you can quickly change or remove scopes on your rifle. Quality QD mounts can be found on amazon

Key Features:

1. Long Range Precision

burris 4.5-14x42 mtac

Accuracy at long range is important, and the Burris MTAC 4.5 delivers in this area. With a magnification range of 4.5-14x, this scope allows for any ethical distance a hunting scenario can provide. Visibility plays a role in distance shooting, and with a 42mm objective lens, this scope collects a lot of light. A larger collection of light allows for more clarity in low-light situations.

The MTAC 4.5 holds its zero well, and the adjustments are smooth especially when utilizing a throw lever. Having been built for hunting, the clarity of this scope suffers at 50 yards and under. Unlike the other MTAC scopes built by Burris, the MTAC 4.5 is built to perform at distance. 

The G2B Mil-dot reticle on this scope is what separates the MTAC 4.5 from all the other scopes in its series. The Mil-dot’s purpose is to gain as much information as possible to make a long-range one-time shot. Whether you use this scope for hunting, or in a tactical environment, you can rely on the Mil-dot design scopes

Both the Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I and the Leupold VX-3i 4.5-14x40mm alternative scopes mentioned in the beginning of the article feature long range precision. With magnifications ranging at 6-24x50 and 4.5-14x40 respectively, the alternative scopes feature a larger magnification range and light collection for long range precision.

2. Forever Warranty

Dependability is the second attribute to consider when choosing a rifle scope. Just as important, if not more so than accuracy and value. You don't want a scope that's amazingly accurate at a great price that works well every other time you use it. Dependability and consistency are key to making great shots, especially in a hunting scenario.

The Burris Forever Warranty provides the peace of mind that if anything is to happen to any piece of your scope, it will be replaced or repaired with no questions asked. It doesn't matter if you're the original owner, or what the sap story is as to why the scope broke. Burris has your back and will repair or replace it at no charge to you. 

The great part of Burris’s Forever Warranty is that their warranty applies to every piece of their scope. Some scope companies will only cover individual pieces of their scopes and not the others. Some will have time-limited warranties on half the scope and no warranty at all on the other pieces. Burris makes it simple and I appreciate them for it. 

The Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I alternative scope comes with Vortex Optics legendary VIP warranty. The VIP warranty is unconditional, unlimited, lifetime warranty and matches Burris’ Forever Warranty in protection. The Leupold VX-3i is covered by Leupold’s full lifetime guarantee which has more limits than Burris and Vortex. 

3. Hold Over And Hold Off

Value for the price you pay is the final criteria when choosing a scope. The Burris MTAC 4.5 provides value for the price through a multitude of avenues. First is the etched-in-glass G2B Mil-Dot reticle. The G2B reticle has ½ mil hash marks between the 1-mil dots for precise aiming, distance measurement, holdover, and hold-off for wind.

The MTAC 4.5 uses precision optical glass that is index matched for unprecedented clarity. The lens of the MTAC 4.5 is coated with a HiLume multi-coating treatment that not only enhances your sight picture but adds protective layers to the lens. Speaking of sight picture, the eyepiece on the MTAC 4.5 is clear and has an eye relief of 3.1-3.8 inches.

With a cool matte black design, the MTAC 4.5 offers an adjustable parallax and due to being non-illuminated offers a lighter weight of 17.6 oz. One aspect of the scope I wish was included is some type of sunshade. Other than a sunshade, the MTAC 4.5 has great value for the price. The MTAC 4.5 offers high-quality clarity, consistency, and dependability for a reasonable price.  

burris mtac 4.5-14

The Vortex Viper PST Gen I has an elaborate battle reticle with a hash marked ranging reticle utilizing MRAD based lines for ranging, holdover, and windage corrections. This makes the Viper PST a great alternative scope to the Burris MTAC 4.5 and exemplifies value for the money. 

The twilight management system in the Leupold VX-3i alternative scope serves as great value for the price. This scope is a great alternative to the Burris MTAC 4.5 as they are both hunting purpose driven scopes. 

Pros/Cons: 

Pros:

  • Unique reticle (G2B Mil-Dot)
  • Accurate at long distance
  • Forever Warranty
  • Great in low light conditions (hunting applications)   

Cons:

  • Non-illuminated reticle (saves weight)
  • Discontinued (can still be found new online; also great purchased used due to Burris’ Forever Warranty)

Final Thoughts:

The Burris MTAC riflescope satisfies accuracy, dependability, value, and is a great long-range hunting option. Burris is a solid brand that stands behind its products and in this case; it is that simple. I have purchased Burris scopes and have never had an issue working with their staff on getting repairs done and back on my rifle quickly.

Burris has made a name for themselves in the hunting community and the MTAC 4.5 is a prime example of how Burris makes hunting scopes. With the G2B Mil-Dot reticle design, quick and calculated adjustments can be made on the fly in the field confidently.   

Make sure that you look into the scope ring, QD, and throw lever options mentioned in the review. Having a throw lever makes a world of difference for 3 gun competitions, and the scope rings are a necessity for any scope you end up purchasing. A QD setup makes you more high speed and allows for failed optics to be quickly removed and backed up by iron sights.           

Reference

Featured Image: The Full Neilson
Vortex Optics Viper PST Gen I Image: 704 TACTICAL
Burris Mtac 4.5-14x42 Image: Andy Prariedog ZRUS Outdoors Channel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *